Vera Rubin Presidential Chair for Diversity in Astronomy Reception & Ceremony

Please join Dean Paul Koch in celebration of the Vera Rubin Presidential Chair for Diversity in Astronomy.

4:30–5:30 p.m. Reception
5:30–6:30 p.m. Ceremony

The Vera Rubin Presidential Chair for Diversity in Astronomy is a radically new kind of chair designed deliberately to advance the causes of diversity, equity, and inclusive excellence in astronomy. The chair holder will use the proceeds creatively and selflessly to support budding scientists, opening the door to singular educational and research opportunities with potential lifelong impact.

Enrico Ramirez-Ruiz
Professor and Chair of Astronomy and Astrophysics, UC Santa Cruz

Theoretical astrophysicist Enrico Ramirez-Ruiz explores the violent and capricious nature of the universe. He uses computer simulations to study transient phenomena such as collisions, mergers, and disruptions of stars, and he plays an essential role in the ongoing efforts to detect gravitational waves. Ramirez-Ruiz works vigorously to support the promotion and retention of women and people from under-represented groups in STEM fields. He established and directs the Lamat program, which gives undergraduate students the opportunity to work with UC Santa Cruz faculty and graduate students on computational astrophysics projects. Since joining the UC Santa Cruz faculty in 2007, he has earned numerous awards and honors, including a Packard Fellowship and a Niels Bohr Professorship. He just received the 2019 HEAD Mid-Career Prize from the American Astronomical Society.


Wednesday, May 22, 2019 at 4:30pm to 6:30pm

UC Santa Cruz University Center, Bhojwani Room

Event Type

Lectures & Presentations

Invited Audience

Alumni, Faculty & Staff, Students, Graduate Students




Free Admission

Google Calendar iCal Outlook

Recent Activity

You're not going yet!

This event requires registration.